Return to Headlines

43 Inducted Into Honor Society

nths nths nths  

Forty-three students were inducted into the Madison-Oneida BOCES chapter of the National Technical Honor Society on Tuesday. 

The inductees represent 10 Career and Technical Education programs at MOBOCES and nine area high schools. They represent the top 10% of the CTE senior class and are part of an elite group of NTHS members statewide.

"These are students who exemplify the meaning of college and career ready," CTE Director Katie Allen said. 

NTHS is an honor society recognizing excellence in career and technical education. To join the honor society, students must be nominated by their teachers, carry a minimum 3.0 grade point average, demonstrate excellence in their CTE program and participate in extracurricular activities at BOCES and/or their home school. NTHS membership is a distinction achieved by only 3-4% of CTE students nationwide.

CTE teachers Karen Murphy and Chris Regner, NTHS chapter co-advisers, led the ceremony along with student representatives of the induction class. CTE teachers presented students from their programs with their honor cords and certificates.

The ceremony included a surprise recognition of Susan Keller, Coordinator of Student Services for CTE, who has been unwavering in her support of students and in helping students develop good character. She was inducted as an honorary member and took a seat with the students for the reading of the NTHS Pledge.
This year’s inductees are:

Camden: Ryan Johnson, Auto Body Repair; Hannah Condon*, Cosmetology; Emily Kiser*, Cosmetology; Haleah Bruggeman*, Cosmetology; Mykenzie Roberson, Culinary Arts; Roger Clark, Graphic Design; Brenden Correia*, Graphic Design; Tyler McCarthy*, Graphic Design; Carissa Smith, Health Related Careers

Canastota: Gary Everspaugh, Automotive Technology; Cassandra Sherman*, Criminal Justice; Tayia Williamson, Health Related Careers; Brittany Clemens, Health Related Careers

Holland Patent: Rebecca Darling*, Equine & Animal Science

Madison: Hannah Kimball*, Early Childhood Education

Morrisville-Eaton: Kayla Welytok, Cosmetology

Oneida: Jordan Thornton, Culinary Arts; Brynn Davis, Early Childhood Education; Mariah Lenning, Early Childhood Education; Angela Witté, Early Childhood Education; Raeann Waterman, Early Childhood Education

Rome: Ashely Roux, Auto Body Repair; Halim (Kyle) Abdelhak*, Computer Programming; Grace Newton*, Cosmetology; Rebecca Stone*, Cosmetology; Michael Wittman, Criminal Justice; Joshua Thayer, Criminal Justice; Angeliah Ratley, Criminal Justice; Cassie Shue*, Culinary Arts; Joshua Finn*, Culinary Arts; Taylor Perron*, Culinary Arts; Jennifer Ivey*, Equine & Animal Science; Lydia Richards, Graphic Design; Alexandria LoGiudice, Health Related Careers; Doh Soe, Health Related Careers

Stockbridge Valley: Kayla March*, Cosmetology

Vernon-Verona-Sherrill: Mark Wright*, Auto Body Repair; Danielle Kimball*, Cosmetology; Conrad Evans, Criminal Justice; Maria Romero*, Criminal Justice; Vincetta Borst, Culinary Arts; Kyra Milgate, Early Childhood Education; Kendra James, Health Related Careers

*Indicates students selected to help lead the ceremony.